Cookies in Use
"Dedicated to the preservation of Standard Cars 1903-1963"

Dedicated to the preservation of Standard Cars 1903-1963

Click here to join the club

Click here to renew your membership

This is YOUR club, keep it interesting for everyone by sending articles to the Magazine

Club elects a new Chairman at the AGM

The Standard Motor Club's Annual General Meeting was held on Sunday 28th March at the West Midlands Golf Club. Amongst a number of Committee changes a new Chairman was elected at the meeting.

Peter Lockley, who has held this post for the past 18 years has stepped down. Committee Member Paul Newsome, having been proposed and seconded for the post according to our constitution was duly elected as the new Chairman.

After the AGM the new chairman paid the following tribute: "To follow Peter Lockley as Chairman will be a very hard job. Peter and has helped develop the club to the very excellent organisation it is today and I hope to build on his good work"

All the new committee posts that were elected at the meeting will be published shortly.

Back row: Darrell Cunningham, Steve Smeltzer, Peter Lockley, Phil Homer. Tony Pounder

Front Row: Beatrice Pounder, Lynda Homer, Paul Newsome, Val Richardson

As a democratically run Club, the officers are elected by the membership at the AGM.  A third of the committee is forced to reapply for election at each AGM, meaning that the whole committee is re-elected on a rolling basis over a 3 year period. Nominations were invited  through calling notices in the Standard Car Review and on this website. At the 2010 AGM there was a number of changes.  Here is the detail:

The following posts were due for re-election and the incumbents did not wish to stand again:

Chairman, Peter Lockley

Membership Secretary and Registrar, Tony Pingriff

Secretary, Rachel Maxwell

Member without Portfolio, John Maxwell

The following posts were filled by nominations received prior to the meeting:

Chairman, Paul Newsome

Secretary, Lynda Homer

The following new post was created by the committee:

Legal Advisor, Peter Lockley

The following posts which have been filled with co-opted members during 2009 were ratified at the meeting

Membership Secretary and Registrar, Tony Pounder

New Members Secretary, Steve Smeltzer

Regalia Officer, Beatrice Pounder*

Assistant Regalia Officer, Graham Hart

Re-elected unopposed:

Vice Chairman, Phil Homer

The remainder of the committee posts are unaltered

* Non-committee post

The Club welcomes new blood to these committee posts and hopes that they will all build on the Club's previous success.

The Club creates a New Honorary Member

You committee occasionally  decides that a member has behaved in such an exemplary fashion to further the aims of the Club that it decides to present its highest award, that of Honorary Membership.

Prior to the 2010 AGM it was decided that such a member had been identified and an award would be made. In his presentation address, the outgoing chairman, Peter Lockley commented that Brian Birch had been helping the Club to organise shows and events long before Peter even joined the Club, 19 years ago, and he was still doing so now. Long may he continue. Thus Brian was presented with a Certificate of Honorary Membership for many years of Service to the Club.

Further awards were made to members of the Club at the AGM, these are recorded on separate pages.

Retiring Club Chairman, Peter Lockley presents the certificate of Honorary Membership of the Standard Motor Club to Brian Birch

Club Awards 2010

Tony Pingriff has stepped down from the Committee of the Standard Motor Club after 23 years service as Registrar and Membership Secretary.

Peter Lockley awarded Tony the Chairman's Cup for the work he has done for the Club.

Our photograph shows the Chairman presenting the award to Tony Pingriff, right

Our Editor, Steve O'Hara was unable to attend the AGM but his prize, the Editor's Cup was presented on his behalf. This prize is usually given to the individual that makes the greatest contribution to the Standard Car Review.

This year Steve decided not to give it to an individual but to the whole of the Manchester Group for their varied contributions throughout the year.

Our photograph shows a number of the Group's representatives with the Editor's Cup

The final award, the ABCD Trophy, (Above and Beyond the Call of Duty) was awarded to Peter Foster.

In his first Year of operation of the Vanguard Spares Scheme, Peter has sorted and catalogued all the Vanguard Spares that the Club owns and has purchased significant further stocks.

Whilst he has been able to service many requests from Members for Vanguard Spares during the year, Peter hopes to further expand the service in the future

Peter is shown on the right in our photograph